Tri tip roast in the Instant Pot

I had a super tiring day and all I wanted to do when I got home was veg. Thank goodness I had picked up a dinner experiment at Safeway : Pre- seasoned trip tip roast.

When I got home this evening, dinner was filling and easy. All it took was setting the IP to sauté to brown the meat (all sides ) and then inserting the rack, plopping the hunk of meat on top and adding 1 cup of breath broth. Then set the IP to sealing , hit meat / stew (ensure it’s on high pressure ) and set for 25 minutes, with a quick release after. Let it rest for 5 minutes, slice and voila : Smokey peppery goodness that didn’t take any effort at all! I’m looking forward to leftovers tomorrow, mixed into a salad with spinach and maybe some avocado and Gorgonzola cheese (Bc that’s she I have on hand.) And now, for the rest of the evening, catching up on Revenge on Hulu and playing fetch with Charlie Rose 🙂

She’s pretty good company and doesn’t scold me when I think dark chocolate and a glass of wine is the perfect way to end the day. 😉

Btw, Is it Friday yet ? 😉

2 comments

  1. That looks yummy. I have a Santa Maria roast in the freezer. I think I’ll try it in the IP. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • The only thing I didn’t add is that it was just shy of 2 lbs…. I probably could have shortened the cooking time slightly (by a couple of minutes ) – but then again it wasn’t chewy or dry so maybe that amount of time was good after all ?

Leave a comment