Are you looking for a yoga class?

Today was an “I need a yoga class” kind of a day. Don’t ask me why. I can’t say I feel that way very often, but I was struck with the realization that being centered, focused and intentional would probably do me a lot of good.

Listening to that feeling, I signed up for a 5:30 class at a studio downtown. That plan was good until I realized I didn’t have any workout clothes at the office. By the time I got something suitable to wear, it was too late. I called the studio and cancelled my spot in the class.

Feeling slightly bummed, I headed to the park for a walk. As I was walking through the parking lot, a lady pulled up in her car and asked me a question through the window:

Are you looking for a yoga class?”

I must have looked confused because she then explained that she was looking for the class that’s held in the park. She was getting ready to call the instructor and see where the group was meeting.

By then I was smiling and I told her that in fact, I would very much appreciate an hour of yoga. I grabbed my mat and accompanied her to the other side of the park, where eventually we found the class.

It’s funny sometimes how life gives us exactly what we need, even if we don’t know what to ask for. I would have been satisfied with an indoor class. But this hour of uninterrupted mindfulness, of connection to the earth, the sky, the breeze … it was a gateway to a deeper kind of peace.

20140703-210740-76060261.jpg
So here I am, relaxed & peaceful, full of gratitude and ready for a lovely holiday weekend. 🙂 Happy 3rd of July!

xo …
-Me!

One Comment on “Are you looking for a yoga class?

Leave a Reply

