Saying “no” to fast food

Here we are, halfway through January and it feels good to be eating a little healthier. I haven’t been sticking to any “rules”, just trying to pay attention to what feels the best.

My body seems to be liking an assortment of fruits, cooked vegetables, eggs, small portions of meat, and fish. Almond butter is making an appearance nearly every day.

Local honey has replaced the sweetener in my coffee (it feels better) and I haven’t had a soda since I read a scary article about aspartame at the start of the year.

And … Fast food. Let’s face it … It’s kind of addictive, even though it’s a low-quality experience. It’s been surprisingly effective to tell myself that a diet of fast food is the equivalent of shoving a “wal-mart experience” down my throat. Sorry if that sounds weird – it actually makes me think. I’ve still eaten a few meals on the go- but I’ve put more thought into it and ended up with much better choices.

So here are some of the highlights of the week. The added bonus is, the better I eat, the better I feel .

20140116-202143.jpg

20140116-202234.jpg

20140116-202257.jpg

20140116-202317.jpg

3 Comments on “Saying “no” to fast food

  1. Everything looks so yummy! I’ve never really cared about salad because I thought it looks “ugly”. But now that I’ve seen the pics that you’ve uploaded, omg. I’m definitely going to change my diet soon. Salad looks downright gorgeous and tempting!! πŸ™‚ xx

    • Wow πŸ™‚ that’s awesome! I used to feel the same way (lettuce = boring!) but there are so many ways to enjoy it. You’ll have to let me know if you come across a salad combo you love. πŸ™‚

      • Definitely will! πŸ˜€ I just recently realised that apple cider vinegar with honey helps to soothe throat (because I was coughing really badly!) as I came across a website full of natural remedies. So, I tried and it really does helps to relieve throat irritation. The combination is effective for throat and not to forget, the taste combined into a bowl of fruit salad is magnificent!! You should totally give it a try! Double awesomeness πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

