It’s gonna be a good year.

Happy New Year! I hope 2013 brought love and happiness to you.

2014 is off to a beautiful start. Here are some scenes from the day:

I started with several miles of walk/run intervals, while Hawea began cooking for the New Year’s Day festivities with the neighbors.

20140101-221234.jpg

We did some chores around the house (including packing away the Christmas decorations ), and I recycled some leftover veggies into a tasty salad for lunch.

20140101-223336.jpg

While she was still cooking, I packed up and headed to Volcano for some down time outdoors. I thought that I would be one of the brilliant few who headed to the park today, but I vastly underestimated the crowds.

20140101-223725.jpg

My first order of business was to return some volcanic rock that some visitors from the mainland had taken, intending to take it home as souvenirs.

20140101-224604.jpg
We discouraged them from taking it off island, lest they provoke Madam Pele. They thought twice and left the rocks with us, and I hadn’t gotten around to bringing them back. (Is it merely a coincidence that we had some REALLY difficult times since that box of rocks has been sitting around ? ) In any case, it felt great to return them to their rightful place, on today of all days. (I took the box, left the rocks).

I bounced around between a few of my favorite spots in the park,

20140101-225037.jpg

20140101-225116.jpg
And eventually I found a trail to disappear into.

20140101-225429.jpg

20140101-222032.jpg

20140101-221925.jpg

20140101-221952.jpg
Disappearing into a forest of ferns and foliage is now officially one of my favorite escapes, and I’m already plotting my return.

I wrapped up the day by joining Hawea and Christy at our neighbor’s party, where the sake and scotch was flowing. After all that walking (roughly 7 miles for the day), I was starving, so dug right into the spread of kalua pig, grilled vegetables, baked beans, fried rice, jumbo shrimp, etc. YUM is all I have to say about that!

All in all, it was a good day. I was hoping for a little reflection time for writing, but today it apparently wasn’t meant to be. Each thing in it’s own time, yes?

Leave a Reply

