Day 23: Service and Joy

I slept and I dreamed that life is all joy. I woke and I saw that life is all service. I served and I saw that service is joy.” ― Kahlil Gibran

20130927-232023.jpg
Today was the final scheduled Snorkel Day with Deep & Beyond (Hilo side). As I explained in this post, Snorkel Day is a event in which volunteers help people with disabilities experience nature, adventure and freedom.

20130927-232610.jpg
My first swim of the day was with volunteer Denis and participant Don. Don has a great sense of humor and had us laughing from the start. Some words come easy for him, others don’t. As we got to know each other, I jokingly referenced the Wizard of Oz (“there’s no place like home”). Don’s eyes locked on mine as he searched for his words, finally tearing up as he told me “the ocean is my home“.

Then, without warning, he began singing. I don’t know what the song meant (it was in Hawaiian language), and he couldn’t say. What wasn’t lost in translation was the richness of his voice, the power of his spirit. It was a moment I’ll not soon forget.

20130927-233106.jpg
More moments unfolded as the day wore on: Gilbert held a collector urchin; Alohalinda floated with the honu, up close and personal. Tourists pitched in and helped with the inflatable wheelchair. They felt good about getting involved, and said so. It was an absolutely heartwarming day.

Then, after an entire day playing IN the water, I spent the evening kayaking ON the water, along with Sandra, Di, Trish and Teresa.

What it looked like: A cruise ship pulled away as we paddled toward the breakwater; three outrigger canoes pushed ahead in the distance. On our way back, the sun sank behind the mountain. Shades of pink saturated the sky, spilling over to the water’s glassy surface.

What it felt like: Slipping through the eye of a needle; emerging with ease into boundless beautiful bliss.

Yeah!!!! It. Was. That. Good!
“Joy is what happens to us when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are.”
― Marianne Williamson

20130927-233838.jpg

Leave a Reply

