Day 19: Dear Yoga…

Dear Yoga,
Wow, I don’t even know where to start.

You are changing me: strengthening my body, but more importantly, opening my heart.

Do you recall, when we first met, I didn’t “get” you at all. I wasn’t receptive to challenge or correction, but you pushed me anyway. That didn’t go so well, and we didn’t speak for years.

Several months ago, our paths crossed again. I was sick, hurting and desperate. You saw my suffering and you were kind to me. We kept it simple: detoxifying twists. Asanas to relieve bloating and distention. You got me through some long and painful nights. I relied on you to keep me going, but I gave you nothing in return. Our relationship was one-sided: You gave yourself to me. I used you.

And that’s why, now, I’m amazed and humbled by your warm reception. Just weeks ago, you welcomed me back with open arms; no apologies demanded, no questions asked. You witnessed my pain and facilitated my healing. And now with a gentle whisper, you are asking me to grow.

So here I am, wondering if I will finally choose to stay. Together we begin the dismantling of defenses. My being is anchored. Feeling at once firm and fluid, I breathe, and open my heart to the mystery of your grace.

20130921-005208.jpg

– M

7 Comments on “Day 19: Dear Yoga…

  1. Sunshine,

    This week I re-read the Bhagavad Gita, this time through the voice of Eknath Easwarn, a great teacher and dear friend of Mahatma Gandhi. This translation is truly a work of love. I recommend it to anyone who who is seeking to understanding of Yoga and our purpose in life.

    With love,

    earl

    • Hey Wendy šŸ™‚ Thank you for this comment – it made me smile when it popped up on my phone. I couldn’t figure out how to reply from there though. Still trying to understand how something so uncomfortable ends up being so good for me, but maybe that’s one mystery that doesn’t really need to be solved.

  2. Your writing is lovely Melissa…content and style… amazing! Grateful to be witnessing your journey! Love u!

    • Thanks Vicki šŸ™‚ After nearly a year, I’m still finding my footing with blogging. This is one of those posts that I probably wouldn’t have written (because without blogging, I don’t make that much time for writing in daily life) but I almost didn’t publish, because of the vulnerability. Hmmm….

Leave a Reply

