Day 13: Thoughts on power, humility and love

Power and humility. These were the words bouncing around in my brain as I jogged through my route today.

We’ve probably all witnessed people in positions of power who either weren’t qualified for their position, or who didn’t use their power judiciously. (That’s putting it nicely). The results can be disastrous, bordering on dangerous.

Seven or eight years ago, I was readily the first person to point a finger at the reckless power trippers, and detail their failings to anyone who would listen.

With the passage of time, the wisdom of experience, and the forgiveness and grace granted to me by others (in the midst of my failings), I’ve mellowed out a bit.

Instead of publicly finding fault with power crazed leaders,  I usually try to see things from that person’s point of view. I ask myself what they are truly trying to accomplish. I then challenge myself to be compassionate and imagine myself in their shoes. Adopting a measure of humility and looking for ways to be genuinely supportive is often what the situation calls for.

Trust me, this is not always easy, even if it appears to be so.

Humility is often mistaken for weakness, kindness dismissed as pointless and wasteful. It’s not for the faint of heart.

To recognize “leader’s” action as unskillful (at best) or harmful (at worst);  to remain unaffected, and proceed to respond with love? THAT’S real power!

20130905-235402.jpg
^^I saw this bumper sticker this afternoon after my musings on power and love. Coincidence? I think not!

5 Comments on “Day 13: Thoughts on power, humility and love

Leave a Reply

