Day 8: Buddha on compassion

Compassion (for self and others) is at the heart of love, would you agree?

When I went for an evening swim after a long day, the water whispered wisely to me:

The world will beat you up to the extent that you are harsh to yourself and others. The world will reflect love back to you, to the degree that you are kind and gentle to the spirit within,
and offer love to those around you.

Busted!

I haven’t been feeling kindly toward myself lately- and the interesting thing is, I hadn’t even realized it. Anger and disgust are sneaky – somehow they creep in and set up camp without detection – and it’s only after they had taken root that I began to feel their presence.

With awareness, we can accept, move on, and love a little (or a lot) more.

20130831-215021.jpg

4 Comments on “Day 8: Buddha on compassion

  1. Monkey: just spent a few minutes catching up on your posts. I am loving this series! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and spirit – definitely a bright spot and source of inspiration in my day! Plus I get the joy of knowing you are doing well and continuing to grow πŸ™‚

  2. Jen,
    Thank you for taking the time to read them and also for commenting. It will be interesting to see what (if anything) happens over the course of 90 days. For what it’s worth, I’ve been following your posts and enjoying your adventures as you ease into your new life! Love, me πŸ™‚

  3. I so love your statement “With awareness, we can accept, move on, and love a little (or a lot) more”…and I completely agree. We all deserve the love and compassion we give to others. Funny how those of us in social work can easily extend this to others and then struggle giving it to ourselves…Want to take this concept to a higher level? Check out the book “The Untethered Soul” by Michael Singer, it’s amazing. Love you Melis! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

