Day 7: When love is like juggling

I thought that focusing on love for 90 days would be a great way to close out the year. It’s already been a little more challenging than I expected it to be.

What I mean by this is… Love is a word we throw around with ease, without stopping to think about what it REALLY means.

I have some ideas about love that I want to share, but it’s been a crazy busy week and I haven’t had the time (or energy) to even scratch the surface. Instead, I’ve done the bare minimum, just enough to get by. Each day I vowed to do better tomorrow.

The scary thing is, I think that’s that’s how we “love” each other a lot of the time. We cruise by on autopilot hoping that the good love we gave last week, last month or last year was enough to get us through. If we’re lucky it is enough, but barely.

My relationship with my mom is a good example. Just yesterday, I realized that I couldn’t remember when we last spoke – so I dialed her number. She was in shock when she picked up the phone. Neither of us had a good reason for why we haven’t connected. We haven’t argued or disagreed.
We’ve both been busy, but we’ve been in touch with friends and other family members. As lame as it is, we just dropped the ball.

All that to say, It felt good to talk to my mama. I sure do love her – enough to keep that ball in the air, no matter what else life throws my way.

20130831-213735.jpg

Leave a Reply

