On Faith and Action

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, but don’t be fooled. So much has been happening that I haven’t known quite how to translate it here. As a rule of thumb, if I’m quiet for very long, one should grow suspicious!

Something is compelling me to break the silence today (and actually has been for a while). I’ve been putting it off, thinking I don’t really know what I’m supposed to be doing, or saying. And if I don’t have a plan or idea, then what’s the point?

But today, I’m surrendering. Even though I have nothing of importance to say, what matters is that I heed the call.

Who else does this? When nudged into action, we  procrastinate, thinking we need a better plan. Or we’re too busy right now – that we can get around to doing it later. But demanding all of the details and lazily waiting until later is disrespectful to the forces of nature that are working on our behalf.

This reminds me of the story of the man who was stranded at sea, praying for God to save him. He refused the assistance of a speedboat, then an ocean liner , and ultimately a helicopter, saying “no thank you. I’ve prayed and I have faith that my God will save me”. After he drowned, he asked God “why didn’t you come?” and God patiently answered “Three times I came. I sent you a speedboat, an ocean liner and a helicopter!”

And right about now, I’m laughing inside.

Because this post about nothing is about something after all: It’s about waking up and paying attention. It’s about having faith. It’s about learning to read clues from the universe, in this great treasure hunt of life.  And last, but not least, it’s about choosing to enjoy being in motion,  even though the destination is entirely unknown.

Is it merely coincidence that this quote landed in my news feed this morning?

“Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy.” -Dale Carnegie

While I may not know the specifics of what I’m supposed to be doing, what I do know is this:

20130724-080535.jpg

 

 

4 Comments on “On Faith and Action

  1. Thanks for this great reminder! I need to trust my inner voice more and I need to stop putting things off due to fear. The building fear just makes the issue get bigger and bigger!

Leave a Reply

