Confession time! (And a poll… feedback requested please!)

Ooooh, sounds juicy, doesn’t it? Well, I DO have a confession to make. I’m kinda sorta really sick of writing from a “sick” person’s perspective. Crohn’s disease kicked my ass all the way through last year. But guess what? It’s not last year anymore, and I’m feeling pretty flippin’ fantastic! My obsession with food and eating seems to dissolving, and dare I say I actually feel like a “normal” human being again.

While I love this blog (I really, really do – it’s one of the great things that came out of this whole fiasco), I’m a little lost about where to take it next.

There are days when I don’t think I can snap another photo of my plate. And then – WHAM – Vea makes something amazing and I can’t help but share it with you. πŸ˜‰ For that reason alone, I’ll probably still post pictures of awesome meals. It’s a “share the love” kind of thing.

20130624-230153.jpg

Okay, Vea didn’t make this but it’s AWESOME! My best food discovery in a while: green papaya salad. So so so so good!! I must have been living under a rock for all these years. Anyone have a good recipe for making this at home?

20130624-230221.jpg

Chicken thigh with grated parmesan cheese, wild rice with mushrooms and onions and a super tasty salad rocked my tastebuds to heaven and back last night!

Beyond that though, I’m stumped. I think blogs are more fun to read when someone is passionate about their subject matter.

Battling chronic illness is NOT a passion of mine. Additionally, posts that glorify (in any way) body dysmorphia, food logs, calorie burns, scale obsessions, and self loathing/ rejection / punishment are out. I cannot, in good conscience, give any more energy to these things than I already have.

So what trips my trigger these days? Nature, the beach, authentic connections with others, learning, growing, expanding, playing, loving, laughing; showing up and being present; staying even when it gets difficult; humor and appreciation; love, kindness, acceptance and genuine compassion for self and others… that’s where it’s at. I think focusing on these things would keep the fires burning. πŸ˜‰

So the question is… what to do with Hungry Girl Eats?

  • Should I keep HGE dedicated to sharing the ups and downs of life with Crohn’s? (After all, it has been a helpful way to face the good, the bad and the ugly head on.)
  • What if I repurposed HGE to cover more subject matter?
  • What if I made an entirely new site and updated this occasionally? (Lots of what-ifs… good for the soul.)
  • If I moved on to a different project, would you like to come along for the ride?

Ultimately I’ll follow my gut (pun intended) but fishing for feedback may help me sort some stuff out. Truthfully, this moment of uncertainty is kind of fun – I love that the future has yet to be written!

As always, thanks for reading, commenting and sharing your thoughts. It wouldn’t be the same without you!

8 Comments on “Confession time! (And a poll… feedback requested please!)

  1. Ultimately, you have to do what feels right to you, Monkey! I’ve enjoyed HGE, without any particular interest in Crohn’s myself, because it has followed your journey. I would be interested in your blog – HGE or something else – because it is your beautiful, luminous self who is posting!

    • Chewing on this… Thanks Jen. Come
      to think of it a lot of times I don’t write about the dis-ease especially when I’m doing better. A lot of my posts are pointless fluff but the process of doing it is fascinating to me. I just find myself wanting to expand a bit I guess…. And how that will look will eventually show itself. Glad to know you’ll travel with me πŸ™‚

  2. I like to see the pictures of your food only because it’s “different” than what I eat but I LOVE the pictures of beauty that you post – flowers, water, all of it… I’m jealous as hell but I love to see them!

  3. Mel, I agree with Jen and Carmen. I will follow you because I choose to support you and love you to the moon and back! Also, I desperately want to start liking and choosing to eat some of the different food you show us, and I want to come to Hawaii but this way is much cheaper! I love you blog and helps me keep in contact with you!!

  4. I say follow your passion Melissa! I will continue to enjoy reading your blog whatevet you choose to write about!
    xo, V

  5. Well, better late than never, yes? Anyway, I think no matter what your decision is, that you NEED to keep writing. You have a gift and you NEED to share it. Hungry Girl Eats doesn’t say Crohn’s, so I’d suggest keeping the site, writing now and then about Crohn’s to let us know how it’s going, and then add your commentary about whatever floats your boat at the time.

    I’ll follow you wherever you are. I look forward to your pictures of food, animals, scenery, or just about anything. So, please keep it up, step it up, but don’t give it up!!!

    kp

Leave a Reply

