My first shark sighting!

Today was “one of those days”. I felt I was being tested and I’m thankful that I seemed to have passed. The whole day left me with a sense of appreciation for my work family, my real family and my irreplaceable friends. Here’s a picture symbolizing the day:

20130411-212956.jpg

I guess I did say a few days ago to “bring on the rain”. How cool is it that life heard me and delivered just what I asked for??

In other news, I was exhausted after my work day and just wanted to flop on the couch. Vea told me I should go to my workout because I really enjoy it and it always makes me happy. She’s a smart cookie! Glad I’m smart enough to listen sometimes.

It was a core workout day. Lots and lots of ab torture, kindly delivered with a smile. I’ve done most of the moves in other workouts, but the “choo choo train” was a new one. Too bad there’s no pictures. We looked like a bunch of spastic chickens!

Here’s my little piece of paradise for the afternoon:

20130411-213621.jpg

The scissors and windshield wipers (he had another name for them) were KILLING me, until I looked up and saw this:

20130411-213806.jpg

Somehow it made the challenge more inviting.

After class, I used the beatburn app to do 45 minutes of intervals in and around the park.

20130411-214451.jpg

After that, it was dinner time. Fried basa (swai) with almond meal coating, mashed cauliflower and broccoli. It really hit the spot.

20130411-214653.jpg

And last but not least, here’s the coolest thing of the day: a shark sighting! It’s probably not a big deal, but I’ve never seen one just swimming around before. While we were waiting for the workout to start, a couple of guys saw it swim right up to shore. It was about 5 feet long! It had started to swim out a bit by the time I saw it but seeing its fin poke up out of the water was waaaaaaaay cool! Unfortunately, it was too fast for the camera so you’ll just have to take my word for it. I may come to regret ever sharing this story, given that Vea is terrified of sharks. (I may never get her to the beach again.) The Business Man’s Regatta is this weekend and she’ll have to get in and out of sharky waters all day. Won’t that be fun? 🙂 Totally looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

