Photo Challenge: Bring on the Rain

Today’s challenge: Share a picture that symbolizes your conditions and experiences.

photo 2 (7)

You might not be able to tell at first glance, but I’m SOAKING WET in this picture.

If you look closely, you’ll see raindrops beading on my arms. This was a picture was taken sometime in the past two months. I was lacing up my shoes to head out for a run and the storm clouds were rolling in. Hawea looked at the sky and said, “You’re gonna get soaked.” This was my cue to change plans, so I would avoid getting drenched.

On any other day, I would’ve agreed.  But that day, I wanted to run. No, I NEEDED to run.  I was tired of feeling tired, and so “over” letting external conditions chart my course. So I thanked her for the warning and went on my merry way.

It was maybe 10 minutes before the rain started to fall. I was in one of those moods where I just didn’t care. In fact, the wetter I got, the freer I felt.  I picked up the pace and went from a jog to a run. And then, this song started to play:

Bring on the Rain

(sung by Jodee Messina and Tim McGraw) :

Another day has almost come and gone

Can’t imagine what else could go wrong

Sometimes I’d like to hide away somewhere and lock the door

A single battle lost but not the war (cause)

Tomorrow’s another day

and I’m thirsty anyway

So bring on the rain

It’s almost like the hard times circle ’round

A couple drops and they all start coming down

Yeah, I might feel defeated

and I might hang my head

I might be barely breathing but I’m not dead (no)

Tomorrow’s another day

and I’m thirsty anyway

So bring on the rain

No, I’m not gonna let it get me down

I’m not gonna cry

And I’m not gonna lose any sleep tonight (cause)

Tomorrow’s another day

And I’m thirsty anyway

So bring on the rain

Bring on, bring on the rain

No, not gonna let it bring me down

I’m not gonna cry

So bring on the rain

(Bring on the rain, Bring on the rain)

There’s not a song in the world that could’ve captured my feelings better.  There I was, running uphill – (RUNNING!!!!!! – just a few short months after being knocked flat on my ass ) – completely drenched, with tears streaming down my face. I knew in that moment that whatever life dishes out, I can take. This song became one of my personal anthems.

When I got home, I was soaked to the bone – but never more grateful for using my power of choice. Had I stayed inside because it looked dark and gray, I would’ve styed warm and dry. And I never would’ve known what I was missing.

Leave a Reply

