Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge: Getting started

Well, well, well. Last weekend marked 5 months since my surgery at Mercy Hospital. Since returning home a lot of really good things have happened – from getting established with a local GI office, getting off steroids, and on a maintenance medication, to introducing “healthier” foods back into my diet and regaining some consistency with exercise. I’m feeling great! In fact, I’m feeling like a “normal” person and I’m so so so grateful for being in relatively good health.

When I saw that Wego Health is promoting the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge for the Month of April, I was torn about whether or not to sign up. On one hand, I created this blog for the purpose of facing and sharing my truth. I intended to be upfront and transparent about the realities of living with Crohn’s Disease, and  doing so has freed me in ways I never expected. HOWEVER, talking about it when I’m feeling so good  is honestly the LAST thing I want to do. Part of me says, “why bait the dragon?” Which is exactly why I’m not letting it go.

To be honest, focusing on Crohn’s every day for the better part of a month makes me REALLY REALLY uncomfortable. I don’t even know if I have the guts (no pun intended) to see it through to completion. But I’m going to give it an honest effort and see where that takes me.Here’s why: I’ve learned that although it’s more comfortable to stick my head in the sand (a.k.a. “ostrich mode”) right now, I’ll feel better in the long run if I face reality head on.

thCA4BAH1H

If the past few months have taught me anything, it’s that the best things in life happen when I’m courageous enough to venture beyond my comfort zone, when I am willing to embrace uncertainty and become comfortable with being uncomfortable. This involves learning to label risk as something positive, such as potential or opportunity.

Committing to this challenge is, in fact, an opportunity. It’s a chance to reflect on my personal journey, process my own experiences, and at the same time, educate and connect with others. For now, I’m choosing to view the challenge through a lens of optimism and possibility. I’m 5 days behind, but if I start now, I can catch up. I will do my best to be honest and upfront, and to that end, I invite you to keep reading and share your comments as the month goes by. Thanks in advance for your presence and your support!

Leave a Reply

