What’s on your plate?

Wow, I must really be into life these days! I just did a fitness post and here I am with a food related one. We had some fun meals last week, I thought it would be a shame if the pictures never saw the light of day. Well, that and I thought some of you might be curious or looking around for meal inspiration.

A couple of nights ago, I made this Cheesy Chicken Sausage with Brussels Sprouts. The original recipe came from Tina at Carrots N Cake. ( I need to learn how to link over… if I figure it out, I’ll edit it with a direct link.) I modified it to add fresh mushrooms, onion and garlic. Vea wasn’t in love with the texture (it was a little on the gloppy side) but other than that it was a hit. She gave it points for flavor, points for meat! (Usually I stick to vegetarian dishes). It has earned a spot in meal rotation, with a few minor tweaks to get the texture right.

photo 1 (8)

Cheesy Chicken Sausage with Brussels Sprouts (modified)

12 ounces shaved Brussels Sprouts (I used fresh and sliced them like mini cabbages, throwing away the ends)

6 ounces chicken sausage

5 wedges Garlic and Herb laughing cow cheese

Fresh sliced mushrooms

Diced onion

A few cloves of minced garlic

A bit of olive oil

Start with the onions, mushroom and garlic in a pan, once they’ve started to cook, add the sausage and cook for a few minutes. Add in Brussels sprouts and about 1 tbsp. olive oil – cook for 5-7 minutes. Meanwhile, unwrap 5 wedges Laughing Cow garlic and Herb cheese and put in a separate bowl. Once the mixture is cooked, stir into the cheese wedges, the cheese gets all melty and VOILA! Dinner is served!  (I added in a couple cream cheese wedges – also laughing cow – and would skip that next time, because it was a bit too much cheese and sort of gloppy. But it was the tastiest glop I’ve eaten in quite some time!)

Vea made this veggie stir fry last night with asparagus, broccoli, and spinach. She was going to serve it over brown rice, but opted for white since it would be easier for me to eat. (I burned the roof of my mouth on a hot bite last week and everything that touches it hurts. White rice is softer!) She marinated the meat in something amazing but I forgot to find out what her secret sauce was. (Like she would let me share it here anyway!)

photo 2 (16)

Today I ate lunch at Yogurtland. It was an effort to avoid aggravating the stupid burn and let my poor mouth heal. I don’t need a lot of justification for a move like this.

photo 3 (11)

One of my favorite lunches lately: salad with a packet of Starkist Lemon Pepper tuna creations. The tuna packet is super convenient- I wish I hadn’t waited so long to try it out.  It makes for an easy lunch on the go. Japanese cucumbers have the best crunch ever. I don’t know why they’re so much better than regular old cukes, but they really are. Throw in a few grape tomatoes, feta cheese, a drizzle of balsamic vinaigrette and I’m good to go. Yum, yum and yum!

photo 2 (13)

photo 3 (10)

On a more adventurous night: fish! Have you ever had swai? This is new to us in the past few months. It’s a budget friendly fish which is why we’ve started keeping it around. She cooked it in foil packets on a bed of spinach with sliced onions and some seasoning. A squeeze of lemon (from the backyard!) was a nice touch. Served with mashed cauliflower topped with Brummel and Brown yogurt spread and salad with more Japanese cucumber. This was one tasty meal!

photo 4 (15)

And last, but not least, a gross looking but pretty satisfying dessert. Sliced bananas, a scoop of Adams natural peanut butter and a drizzle of Hershey’s syrup. It’s not a low-calorie snack but it does offer nutritional value, so that’s sayin’ something, right?

photo 5 (13)

Darn. These posts always make me hungry! Go figure…

Leave a Reply

