Awesome takes practice

It was a weekend full of discoveries, starting with the fact that I now actually LIKE papaya! We had a few leftover after having company last week. I didn’t want them to go to waste, so I figured I’d open my mind and try it again. Surprisingly, I enjoyed the flavor and can actually imagine adding these into a breakfast rotation. Papayas are said to have enzymes that are good for digestion – so that makes them even more appealing.  It’s an added bonus that they’re cheap and plentiful at the Farmer’s Market. photo 1 (4)

When I was out for a run, I took a new route and ended up discovering Machado Acres Park. This is only 1.5 miles from home, and it has an impressive maze of trails.

photo 2 (5)

I took one look at this and knew Charlie would love it.

photo 3 (7)

Indeed, she did! I took her on Saturday and again on Sunday.

Is it just me, or is she especially cute in pink?

photo 5 (10)

I also gave some thought this weekend to my goals for the week: Goal # 1 -Get a grip on my food intake. I’ve gotten a little too crazy with eating junk… which is ridiculous when we have ready access to fresh fruits and veggies, farm fresh eggs, etc. My plan is to use My Fitness Pal (www.myfitnesspal.com)  to pre-log food and reduce the chance of going completely off track.

Breakfast: Coffee with a splash of almond milk, homemade McMuffin with egg, Canadian bacon and a slice of Monterey jack cheese.

photo 2 (6)

Morning snack: Chobani greek yogurt with agave syrup and cinnamon, a sliced apple

photo 3 (8)

Lunch: Lemon pepper tuna wrap, with spinach, tomatoes and sprouts

photo 4 (14)

Afternoon snack (not pictured): baby carrots, grape tomatoes and garlic and olive hummus. It was kinda yummy. 🙂

Tonight’s dinner, in honor of St. Patty’s day, is  corned beef and cabbage with carrots and potatoes.  But since we haven’t eaten yet, here’s a picture of last night’s dinner instead:  two farm fresh eggs with a slice of Canadian bacon on top of avocado and grape tomatoes. I’m pretty sure the Canadian bacon made the difference between this being just okay and actually good.

photo 4 (3)

And last but not least, my fitness goals: I think it’s time to up it a notch or two in terms of general bad-assery. My plans for the week include completing  week 1 of Jillian’s 90 Day Body revolution. (6 workouts, one rest day). I was making lots of excuses when I realized that I’m surrounded by kick-ass inspiring people who are doing all kinds of amazing things with their lives. If Kuulei could run 13.1 miles today (the last few in excruciating pain), and if Jenn and her  daughter can crank out a 5K after weeks of kick-butt training, then certainly I can aim for doing a 30 minute DVD every day. As a test to see if I meant it, my DVD player bit the dust. Luckily the laptop plays DVDs – problem solved! I did workout 1 and cardio today for a total of one hour. It wasn’t too bad, and I feel respectable!

I leave you with these parting words:

photo 1 (2)

2 Comments on “Awesome takes practice

    • Aw, thank you! Your comment actually motivated me when I saw it. Sorry took me so long to reply. Still getting the hang of comments. But it DOES help to know who’s reading and feedback is always good. Did you ever think of starting a running blog?

Leave a Reply

