Fauxtatoes – have you tried ’em?

Happy ALMOST Friday! I hope you’re all staying warm and dry.  Those of you in Northeast Kansas have been in my thoughts, especially when I catch myself ready to whine about our weather. Thanks for all the fun pictures of snowy driveways, cattle in snowy pastures, kids in snow forts and moms and dads on sleds! It sure makes me grateful for the Big Island’s version of winter.

We’ve been getting a lot of rain,  and today was the first day the sun came out long enough for me to get outside for a run. It was terrific to get outside and pound the pavement – running is so much more fun when the scenery changes. My best guess is that I went for about 4 miles… it was a new route – so that made it more interesting too. : )

Now that my appetite is back in check, I’m trying to figure out a sustainable eating plan. It really is anybody’s guess as to what’s best for me. I’ve been told time after time to eat small, frequent meals to make digestion easier, and I really am a grazer. What bums me out about that is that I can’t keep up with pictures of every little thing I eat…. it’s too much!!! So I guess from here on out, I’ll just show the best stuff and leave the rest up to the imagination. (Though I cant imagine that anyone besides me actually cares! )

Yesterday’s breakfast:

photo 1 (8)

I was bummed to discover we ran out of bananas. Luckily we had English Muffins in the fridge. I topped it with ALMOND BUTTER – that stuff is addicting! This is the first time I’ve tried it and always wondered how it could be that much different than peanut butter. I’m glad I now have the answer. I think I’m in love.

Next up: Lunch

photo 3 (10)

Chicken artichoke flatbread Sammy from Target Café

photo 4 (14)

Spring mix salad with deli turkey slices, baby carrots, sliced pepperoncini and light blue cheese dressing

I had to channel my inner Jillian to get the flatbread  instead of the Pizza Hut pasta alfredo. I love that stuff. Luckily, the chicken/artichoke combo was really good for a fraction of the damage.

Dinner:

photo 5 (9)

Steamed, mashed cauliflower with garlic and sour cream, salad, and swai with an almond meal coating.

This was pretty good. I kind of  like the whole almond meal thing.  Hawea has earned my trust when it comes to preparing fish (save for the one experiment with the mustard fish -it’s right up there on the level of disaster of the avocado enchiladas).  As for the “fauxtatoes”, if you haven’t tried them, give it a go! Some people are potato purists (my sister being one of them) and in that case, it’s a hard sell. For everyone else, this is a yummy, satisfying alternative to a bulky potato. Vea did an experiement – ate a baked potato along with the mashed cauliflower, and declared them equally good. 🙂 There you have it folks. She’s the boss.

Leave a Reply

