I ate lunch with Michael Douglas and Sharon Stone.

photo 5 (5)

photo 4 (13)Okay, so that might be a stretch. What actually happened is I had some amazingly tasty grub at Maui Tacos, who happens to have a wall of fame that highlights their celebrity clientele. The main seating area was full so I ended up at the little bar area right in front of these guys. It would’ve been nice to eat with Alice Cooper, but some other lady got to him first.

Taco day was a splurge – in celebration of being PREDNISONE FREE for the first day in over 2 1/2 months! To be honest, I was craving a little crunch, so this seemed like the perfect justification.

So… how was the food? In a word, satisfying.  I can hardly believe it took me 6 years to figure out the best thing on the menu. They have ginormous burritos, nachos, tostadas, vegetarian options, bowls, but the best thing I’ve ever had there is … (drum roll please)… a taco.

Specifically, the hard shell taco. The soft shell ones are just okay in my opinion. But the crunch factor on this puppy is out of this world. It’s the stuff obsessions are made of:

photo 2 (8)

I was pretty hungry, and also feeling adventurous, so I branched out and also ordered the Baja grilled fish taco, which included grilled fish, black beans, shredded cabbage and a jalapeno dressing:

photo 3 (9)

It was definitely YUMMY. The fish wasn’t anything special, but the beans, the cabbage and the flavor of the dressing more than made up for it. I have a feeling I’ll be craving this again soon.  I’m starting a list of my favorite foods, and these two made the cut.

In case you’re wondering, this was only a fraction of what I ate yesterday. Before taco time,  I made sure to get in my fruits and veggies:

photo 1 (7)

Tuna on cucumber slices. Baby carrots and cottage cheese inside 1/2 a small avocado. It was just too pretty not to share.

And last but not least, I’m happy to share that this is MY 50TH BLOG POST since starting this project in November. A couple of short months ago I was attached to tubes and an IV pole,  counting laps around the 8th floor of a hospital, with a goal of smoking the other patients. Yesterday I did 30 minutes of sprint/jog intervals and busted out 35 minutes of Jillian circuits. I felt even stronger than I did before all of this went down. Which brings to mind a quote from Ernest Hemingway:

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are stronger at the broken places.”

Signing off,

Stronger, healthier, with an even greater appreciation for delicious. amazing. food.

Muuah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

