I was attentive today…

Presenting one of my favorite quotes:  “The present moment is full of joy and happiness. If you are attentive, you will see it.”

I think it’s particularly relevant since I went back to Gastroenterology Associates today for a reading of the TB skin test. Same doctor’s office that I was bitching about on Monday. Same staff. Different (BETTER) experience. It was quickie – in and out. No glitches, no complications. And, believe it or not, there was beauty all around me:

photo 2
This boquet was right above my chair and it smelled AMAZING. : )

It’s  a relief to be letting some of my anxiety about that office go. I may have gotten off to a bumpy start with them, but that doesn’t mean the rest of the ride has to be hell. In fact, there are probably numerous hidden blessings in the fact that I didn’t get an appointment sooner:

  1. I was able to make the trip to the mainland and see friends I haven’t seen in years- that may not have happened, if the issue had been discovered here.
  2. I was in AMAZING hands at Mercy Hospital. I’ve talked about that enough – but that was nothing short of a miracle. I still say thanks for Dr. Nowell, the ER and ICU staff, and all of the staff who cared for me post surgery.
  3. Friends and family!!! If the problem had been discovered here, I would’ve missed out the TLC from my mama, my brother, sweet grandma, Auntie C and so many of my beloved friends made the recovery time an unforgettable (slightly magical and frequently humorous) experience. It was meant to be.
  4. The detour we took to Portland. Never did we expect to add a leg onto the trip and hang out with Vea’s family in Portland – but we’re both so thankful that happened! The time we spent with Bindy and Dennis, getting to meet Vea’s cousins… priceless. If the referral process to Gastro Associates had gone smoothly, crisis may have been averted, but we probably wouldn’t have formed the bonds we did.

I could go on and on, but no need to do that here. The main thing is that I keep my perspective and stay GRATEFUL. Not fearful. There’s no time like the present to turn it around, right?

Thankfully, my daily meditation and journaling is helping with this, as is spending time with the right kind of people. Those of you with positive attitudes, encouraging comments and a focus on gratitude are my kinda peeps! I’m grateful for each of you and I feel blessed to have you in my life.

At the risk of droning on and on… I’ll wrap it up for today and leave you with some scenes from this beautiful day:

photo 1
My birthday gift from Vea – a chair and table for my new morning ritual. It’s a great place to journal and meditate and have my morning coffee. I do feel about a hundred years old watching the neighbors pass with my little lap dog though. 🙂
photo 4 (4)
Our new neighbors have some funky yard art. I’m particularly fond of the mermaids. There’s this little lady and a larger fountain one. Charlie thought she was cute too.
photo 5 (2)
Seeking balance. Yogurt for breakfast, Burger King Value meal for lunch, and this was my afternoon snack.
One Comment on “I was attentive today…

Leave a Reply

