Getting my attitude in check

January 2!! That means that the new year is more than officially here and it’s time to pony up and make good things happen.

This morning got off to a good start with meditation and journaling. I successfully avoided cookies for breakfast and had a greek yogurt instead. Then I packed a healthy lunch (spring mix salad with turkey and feta cheese, a tangelo, and a banana for a snack).

It was a little disheartening to realize that I was squeezing (and I mean SQUEEZING) my booty into my jeans, so I took a deep breath and pulled a pair of “big pants” from the top shelf of the closet. As tempting as it is to complain about it, I’m choosing to be thankful. Thankful that I have been able to consistently eat and enjoy good food. Thankful that I have clothes that fit in various sizes, and all I have to do is shop in my closet when the current stuff stops fitting.

I’m choosing – for today at least – to look at this as an opportunity. A chance to dig deep and tap my reservoir of strength and determination. I will not complain today about the medicine. I will not complain about the side effects. I will not complain about my appetite or the numbers on the scale. No more stinkin’ thinking.

One of my favorite quotes is from Albert Einstein: ” We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them”.

Amen, Einstein! I’m choosing not to focus on what’s wrong. I’m just grateful to be here, with another chance to try and figure out how the hell to get it right.

 

Edited to add: This is yesterday’s post. I was playing catch up – getting back to work – and didn’t get around to publishing. Perhaps I’ll post a double dose today? 🙂

Leave a Reply

