Inspired by every-day angels

Do you ever have the feeling that you’re exactly where you need to be, at exactly the right point in time? That’s how I felt in the moments that led me to write this post.

Yesterday when I was at work, a young woman approached me with a request for help. I’ll spare the details, but she was looking for resources in the community to help a family who won’t have any Christmas gifts this year.

I was beyond touched by her compassion. Her own finances are tight, and she’s a struggling single mom, and yet she plans to buy a game for the family in need. It would be a gift that she can fit into her budget, and something that can be shared  by the three kids who will be waiting expectantly for Santa to visit. She will remain anonymous, she has no need for credit or thanks.

I  can only imagine the response of the family who receives the gift(s), on Christmas morning. I know from (recent) personal experience what it feels like to be blanketed with love, kindness, compassion and generosity. It’s heartwarming and humbling. In ways, it’s overwhelming. And there’s absolutely no way a price tag could capture the value of feeling cared for.

It’s an honor to know this “angel”, and so many others, who simply give from the heart with no need for anything in return. They are my teachers. This is one of those life lessons that I am  blessed to be re-learning at this point in time. I continue to be thankful for all I have received, and I find myself asking, “How else can I give?

Leave a Reply

