The great bacon debate

After last night’s “enchilada incident”, we opted for the safe route: Dinner out. 🙂

We met up with friends at Café Concerto, a cozy little Italian restaurant.  Hawea and I shared a caprese salad (she ate all the tomatoes). She enjoyed a penne pesto dish and I ordered the  ravioli con gorgonzola (minus the pine nuts).  Yummy stuff.

photo 3 (5)

We then ended up debating the merits of the maple bacon donut that’s all the rage in Hilo town lately. I can’t quite figure out if I should be ashamed or proud to admit that I have actually tried versions from two different bakeries in the past week. (One I sought out, the other magically appeared at yesterday’s staff meeting).

The version from Hilo Bake Shop got a big “thumbs down” from me. Too gooey and sweet. I’m a girl who “gets” gooey and sweet, and it still didn’t work. I can’t quite put my finger on why.

photo 1 (9)

The looker from Hilo Bake Shop. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. It’s what’s inside that counts.

The Lanky’s Pastry’s version was addictive. Not as pretty, but it was the perfect balance of sweet and salty, soft and crunchy. I could’ve eaten the entire plate. Easily. (Thank goodness that didn’t happen!) This donut is one of those things I’d be better off not knowing about, if you catch my drift.

Not so sexy at first, but this donut has soul.

Not so sexy at first glance, but this donut has soul.

I was going to wrap this up, when I just remembered this little gem I picked up at Powell’s City of Books in Portland.

photo 1 (10)

From all I’ve heard, the marriage of bacon and dessert is hardly a neutral topic. I happen to think it’s brilliant. It would be fun to hear what camp you fall into! You’re also invited to  share any bacon recipes that you’d like to see us test drive here on the blog. I’ll try just about anything, if I ever get my kitchen privileges back.

4 Comments on “The great bacon debate

Leave a Reply

