The Prednisone Piggy

My appetite isn’t showing any signs of slowing down any time soon. With some major effort, I’m able to keep my calorie intake to about 2500, but it’s pretty easy to slip above the 3000 mark. This is simply bizarre, in contrast to the low calorie days leading up to surgery. In a pre-surgery week, I would have one or two 400-500 calorie days, followed by a day or two of no food whatsoever. Suffice it to say, swinging from one extreme to another is disconcerting.

My (nurse) momma assures me that my monstrous appetite is probably related to the daily dose of prednisone I’m on. I’m a little relieved to hear this because as far as I know, I will only be on it temporarily. Today I picked up my first bottle of Imuran, a medication specific to Crohn’s. The plan is to eventually increase the Imuran and decrease (and I hope, phase out?!?) the prednisone. In the meantime, I’m keeping my activity level up to help my digestive system burn through some of this fuel. I had a great walk/run outside, and am so thankful for being able to do it.

photo 1 (8)

Lovely layers: apple, cranberry carrot juice. It was really yummy. Of course we stirred it before drinking, but it’s so pretty this way.

photo 3 (6)

Egg, ham and pepper jack cheese breakfast wrap

photo 4 (6)

Leftober pizza with turkey pepperoni for lunch

Chicken burger with fat free mayo, cheese, lettuce and avocado and baked zucchini spears

Chicken burger with fat free mayo, cheese, lettuce and avocado and baked zucchini spears

Other snacks not pictured: Arbonne Essentials chocolate protein shake (not bad, not bad at all!), 4 slices of Oscar Meyer honey ham, about 1/2 cup of “Fire in the Hole” Pumpkin soup and 3 Lindt chocolate truffles. Maybe this is the universe’s way of making up for weeks of feeling like I was starving. Could it be?

Leave a Reply

