“Eat, Pray, Love” was already taken

First things first: Happy Thanksgiving!!! And thank you for reading this inaugural post of “Hungry Girl Eats”. If you know me at all (and if you’re reading this, then you do), then you’re aware of my journey with Crohn’s disease, and the title of the blog needs no further explanation.

I’m starting this project for several reasons. First of all, it’s personal. It seems like a good way  to process the events of the past few months and eventually gain a deeper understanding of what the heck’s been going on.  I want to share openly what it’s like to be me. To be this vulnerable takes GUTS, my friends. (Uh oh,  I’m cracking the funnies already...)  If, in the process, someone learns something about how to support a co-worker, or relate to a friend better, then I’ll be glad to have helped. If someone with a health challenge reads this and walks away with a little more hope, or a brighter outlook on living life in a different lane, that’s priceless. I can only hope my words will find their way to just where they belong.

Some of the things you can expect to see as this little gem gets underway:

  • A day in the life… what crazy diet am I trying today??
  • When was the latest alien baby sighting my stomach region?
  • What’s the lesson, what’s the gift, in all this chaos and madness?
  • How do I accept and embrace reality -life with an incurable disease – while choosing to be defined by health and wellness? 
  • And maybe, most importantly, what good grub did I get my happy little hands on last???? 

Thanks again for stopping by, on this most celebrated culinary holiday of the year, to celebrate and share my joy: this hungry girl is now able to EAT!!! I leave you with images of our Thanksgiving feast from LAX airport.

We dropped $40 on this spread from Baja Fresh. (My jaw dropped as I forked over a wad of cash, but I quickly recovered – after all, it’s THANKSGIVING. I’m just thankful.)  Leftovers are boxed and will be our dinner on the 5 hr flight to Hilo.

I’m excited to write more, as I have so much more to say. A Thanksgiving post is in queue, but for now, I need to wrap it up and publish…. boarding soon.

Much love,

xoxo

The Happy (Not so Hungry anymore) Girl on the Go

 

 

 

2 Comments on ““Eat, Pray, Love” was already taken

Leave a Reply

